31 Days to a Better Photo

While surfing the internet on my Nook (okay, my mom’s Nook) at 1:00 yesterday morning (ah, the joys of breastfeeding), I stumbled across a blog called Life with My 3 Boybarians: Boys, Books, Blogging, and Photography.  I was particularly interested in her series 31 Days to a Better Photo.  I’m on maternity leave, so I have the time.  I’ve got a newborn baby, so I have the inspiration.  The real question is… do I have the motivation and follow-through?  I’d say that one of my least desirable characteristics is my lack of perseverance in basically all projects that I begin.  Do I have it in me?  Only time will tell.

Day One : Welcome
December 4, 2011

We don’t even touch the camera on day one.  Semi disappointing… but a little relieving.  I’m already one day closer to having a better photo, and I didn’t even have to do anything… except answer the two questions that are posed on the blog:

When did you realize how much you loved photos? What motivates you to love your images?

I wouldn’t say I have a passion for photography or photographs, but I do find a sense of pride and accomplishment in a photo well taken.  Not only does it preserve a memory, but a good photo can capture the spirit of the moment you’re in.  I want to look back on photos with more than personal thoughts of, “What a fun camping trip!” and “I can’t believe I thought I was fat back then.”  I would like anyone looking at it – not just those who know the subjects – to be moved by the picture.

Leave a Reply

