What Are You Into This Month? – March Edition

Following the lead of Sorta Crunchy, I’m documenting bits and pieces of interest.  If nothing else, it’ll be a fun way to keep track of where I’m at in the moment, and if I keep up with this, it’ll be a fun to chronicle the months as they fly by!  Feel free to snag this idea as well, or post comments on what you’re into this month.

What I Am Into This Month – March 2011

In My Book Basket:

  • Bones to Ashes by Kathy Reichs (on Playaway)
  • The Readaloud Handbook by Jim Trelease
  • Cook’s Country magazines

T.V. Show Worth Watching:

I’ve now passed the 100th episode of Bones!  A momentous occasion… though it’s one that makes me a little sick.  I mean, 100 episodes?  That’s the equivalent of 70 hours of television.  At least they don’t have commercials on Netflix – otherwise you could take on 30 extra hours to that.

I’ve also fallen into the trap that is American Idol.  If we’re being truthful, I could easily pull myself out, but I’m taking one for the team on this one.  It’s a show Paul really enjoys, and he does so many things that I enjoy without complaining a bit (okay, without complaining very much).  I owe him!  And I’m scared to admit this, but I think that if I give it a few more episodes, I may just be so far into the show that I wouldn’t stop watching even if I could.

Movie I’ve Seen:

The Social Network came through the mail from Netflix this month, as did The Kids are All Right.  We used the Wii to watch Sunshine Cleaning, IQ, and The Ugly Truth. Of all those, I liked The Ugly Truth the most.  And if we’re bing honest here, I didn’t even like it all that much.  It’s been a disappointing month of movies.

In My Kitchen:

I had several absolute failures in the kitchen, which hasn’t happened in a while.  The most notable of these was the alfredo sauce incident.  I’m not sure what went wrong… but I ended up with garlic cheese milk and a solid lump of rubbery Parmesan.  It was bad, folks.  Really bad.  Almost inedible.  Almost.  Yes, we did still eat it (though most of the rubbery mass went into the trash can).  We won’t even go into the balsamic steak, roasted tomato salad, and homemade goat cheese dressing that was Valentine’s dinner.

There were a few successes mixed in, luckily.  Bad Boy Double Chocolate Cookies, for example.  With a name like that, how could they not be good?


We’ve also had honey mustard crumb-coated pork cutlets, chicken and cheese quesadilla pie, grilled flank steak with charred sweet onion relish, chicken paremsan roll-ups, red beans and rice, ham and cheese mini quiches, pot roast, paninis, strawberry banana smoothies, and tapioca pudding.  That list makes me realize I’d better get caught up with blogging pretty soon!

Google Reader Trends (past 30 days)

What I’m Looking Forward in April:

A big announcement!

Leave a Reply

