What Are You Into This Month? January Edition

Following the lead of Sorta Crunchy, I’m documenting bits and pieces of interest.  If nothing else, it’ll be a fun way to keep track of where I’m at in the moment, and if I keep up with this, it’ll be a fun to chronicle the months as they fly by!  Feel free to snag this idea as well, or post comments on what you’re into this month.

What I Am Into This Month – January 2011

In My Book Basket: It’s overflowing, that’s for sure!

  • The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Steig Larsson
  • Ten Lessons to Transform Your Marriage by John Gottman
  • The Kindness of Strangers by Katrina Kittle
  • Fireflies in December by Jennifer Erin Valent
  • Waiting by Ha Jin
  • His Needs Her Needs by Willard F. Harley, Jr.
  • The Known World by Edward P. Jones
  • The Love Dare by Stephen and Alex Kendrick
  • Grace by Richard Paul Evans
  • Couple Skills by Matthew McKay
  • The America’s Test Kitchen Family Baking Book
  • Readymade magazine
  • Cuisine at Home magazine
  • Cook’s Country magazines
  • America’s Test Kitchen 30-minute Suppers
  • Cook’s Country Lost Recipes

T.V. Show Worth Watching:

After abandoning Netflix for a brief while (lack of internet and general holiday busy-ness), I’m back in the game.  Bones is on in the background now, and I’ve also been enjoying sporadic episodes of Man v. Food and Lie to Me.

Movie I’ve Seen:

I really enjoyed Away We Go – easily the best movie I’ve seen in a while.  It was written by Dave Eggers, author of one of my favorite books – A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius.  I found this out after the movie was over, though, so it just reaffirmed my love of all things Eggers.    Here’s the description of the movie from IMDb, in case you’re interested:

A couple who is expecting their first child travel around the U.S. in order to find a perfect place to start their family. Along the way, they have misadventures and find fresh connections with an assortment of relatives and old friends who just might help them discover “home” on their own terms for the first time.

And a bonus: It stars Jim from The Office and Maya Rudolph from SNL.

In My Kitchen:

New recipes have taken a backseat this month.  I’ve still been cooking, but mostly without recipes (roasted asparagus and tilapia, for example) or with recipes I’ve used before.  I can’t pinpoint the reason for the change, and I’m not sure if I like it or not.  It’s really fulfilling to create something new, and I miss that feeling.  The pros?  The kitchen has been a much more relaxed place.  I don’t have to concentrate quite so hard, I don’t spend as much time in the kitchen, and I have fewer dishes to wash – I know what shortcuts I can take without affecting the quality of the meal.  I have made a few new recipes:

healthy muffin

Google Reader Trends (past 30 days)

Favorite Non-Blog Websites: I’ve gotten the most use out of Allrecipes.com.  It’s a little late for Christmas Cards now, but The Merry Newsinator cracked me up.

What I’m Looking Forward in February:

Valentines Day!

One response to “What Are You Into This Month? January Edition

  1. Hey Kate! This is such fun. Am going to check out this meme and join in for sure. I love reading and you’ve added some titles I hadn’t considered. Do share a few reviews as well!

Leave a Reply

