A Humiliating Superbowl Story (and some links to tasty appetizers, too)

Ah, Super Bowl time.  Whether the Packers make it or not, I’ll definitely be watching the Super Bowl in a few weeks (if only for the commercials and  guilt-free appetizers).  I don’t typically make or eat appetizers – they just end up spoiling dinner – but the Super Bowl is a rare instance when I let loose and go appetizer-wild.  They’re basically a replacement for dinner, so why not make the most of it?

I have a bunch of recipes I’m excited to try out, Before we get to all of that, however, I must clear my conscience and tell you a story.

Every single year, regular season football ends and the Super Bowl buzz starts.  The moment the words “Super Bowl” come out of the television speakers, I’m immediately transported to the last week in January, 1994, Mrs. Coffee’s fourth grade classroom where the teacher has divided everyone into groups of three to come up with ideas for our class Superbowl party.

Now, there are three things you must know to understand the rest of this story.  First – I was never a “cool” kid.  I was more of an “on the fringes of being cool but never quite there because she tries to hard to be liked” kid.  Second – none of my family members are”into” football.  It’s little more than background noise in my household.  Third – and most importantly – there was a bowling alley in town called The Superbowl.

I think you can see where this is going.

It’s my lucky day – I’ve been grouped with THE two coolest kids in the class.  Mrs. Coffee tells everyone to start writing down ideas for the Superbowl party.  I’ve got my trusty looseleaf paper and #2 pencil and look to Josh and Amy for ideas.  “We should definitely have food – chips and stuff,” Amy says.  Josh wholeheartedly agrees.  I thought this was a little odd – I didn’t think you could bring food into a business – but I write it down anyway.  They’re popular – they must be more knowledgeable than I.  Just look at Amy’s snap bracelet collection – she’s a girl who knows things.  Then Josh suggests everyone bringing in a can of soda.  Uneasily, I write that down as well.  Amy excitedly begins talking about streamers and posters. This is the last straw for me.  “You guys, we can’t decorate the bowling alley!” I blurt out.  Both of them just stare at me for a moment, then burst out laughing.

“Um, ever heard of football?” Josh asks.

*Cringe.*

Best just not to think about it any longer.  Onto the appetizers.  Click on the pictures for links.

Spinach and Artichoke Dip from Beantown Baker

Stuffed Pizza Rolls from Our Best Bites

Bruschetta from Our Best Bites

Cheddar Cheese Ball from Cook's Country via Debbie's Adventures in Cooking

Hot Corn Dip from Our Best Bites

Guacamole and Chips from Our Best Bites

Leave a Reply

