Crispy Pepper and Parmesan Pork Cutlets – Recipe

Every time I go to Barnes and Noble, I sit in the magazine section and drool over the America’s Test Kitchen special editions.  Last time I went, my husband treated me to one such magazine:

The first (and so far only) recipe I’ve cooked from it is one of the best we’ve had in a while.  I tried Crispy Pepper and Parmesan Pork  Cutlets.  My pictures can never quite capture how good it looks in real life, but I try!

I nearly went for “Best-Ever Recipes” (how could I not?), but while I love America’s Test Kitchen dearly, their typical recipes are not the best for weeknight fare.  Many of their recipes are pretty labor intensive, which is not necessarily what I’m interested in after a long day of work.  I’m trying to finish the cooking, eating, and cleaning by 7:00, though, so 30-minute meals won out.  And really, I can’t complain, especially after the last meal!

Crispy Pepper and Parmesan Pork Cutlets

Adapted from America’s Test Kitchen

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 cup panko bread crumbs (we didn’t have these and I used regular – still delicious!)
  • 1 cup freshly shredded Parmesan cheese (not from the green bottle)
  • 6 thin-cut boneless pork cutlets, 3-4 ounces each
  • 1/2 cup plus 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • salt and pepper

Directions

  1. Spread flour in a shallow dish.  Bead eggs in a second dish.  Combine panko, cheese, and 1 teaspoon black pepper in a third dish.
  2. Pat pork dry with towels and season with salt.  One at a time, dredge cutlets in flour, dip in egg, and dredge in bread-crumb mixture, pressing to adhere.
  3. Head 1/4 cup oil and additional 2 teaspoons pepper in a large nonstick skillet over medium head until shimmering.  Fry 3 cutlets until deep golden and crisp, about 3 minutes per side.  Drain on paper towel-lined plate.  Discard oil, wipe out skillet, and repeat with additional 1/4 cup oil, 2 additional teaspoons pepper, and remaining cutlets.

Leave a comment