Daily Archives: November 20, 2010

Spinach Strawberry Salad – Recipe

I’m not a salad loving girl.  I’ll eat it for health’s sake, but I typically don’t enjoy it.  This salad on the other hand?  Unbelievable.  It’s sweet, crunchy, juicy, light… It’s my new favorite.  It’s actually the first salad dressing I’ve ever made from scratch (aside from a simple oil and vinegar mixture), and I’d say it’s a resounding success.

I first had this salad at a potluck that the PTA set up for us during conferences.  The fare is typically amazing – everyone contributes their best dish.  Even out of all of those foods, though, the salad was the star.  Luckily the mom who made it put her name on the dish, so I was able to track her down and beg the recipe off her.

Spinach Strawberry Salad

Ingredients:

  • 2 T. sesame seed
  • 1 T. poppy seed
  • 1 1/2 t. minced onion
  • 1/4 t. worcestershire sauce
  • 1/4 t. paprika
  • 1/4 c. cider vinegar
  • 1/2 c. oil
  • 1/2 c. sugar or Splenda
  • 1 bunch spinach
  • 2 cups sliced strawberries
  • 1/4 cup slivered almonds

Directions:

  1. Place sesame seed, poppy seed, onion, worcestershire sauce, paprika, vinegar, and sugar in a blender.  Add oil in a steady stream with blender on low speed.  Blend until creamy and thick.
  2. Combine spinach, strawberries and almonds in a large bowl.  Drizzle a moderate amount of dressing over the top; toss to coat.  Add more dressing if desired.

Extra dressing can refrigerated for later use.