What Are You Into This Month?

Following the lead of Sorta Crunchy, I’m documenting bits and pieces of interest.  If nothing else, it’ll be a fun way to keep track of where I’m at in the moment, and if I keep up with this, it’ll be a fun to chronicle the months as they fly by!  Feel free to snag this idea as well, or post comments on what you’re into this month.

What I Am Into This Month – October 2010

In My Book Basket: Right now in my book basket?  It’s relatively empty at the moment – The Quick Recipe from Cook’s Illustrated, Julia Child’s The Way to Cook, The Ultimate Cooking Course, Real Simple’s Meals Make Easy, and Private Life by Jane Smiley on Playaway.  I just finished up Those Who Save Us by Jenna Blum, and John Gray’s Men Are from Mars, Women Are from Venus and The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck are on the nightstand right now.

T.V. Show Worth Watching: Netflix has just about taken over my life at this point.  Bones is on in the background nonstop – it’s on “instant watch” so I can just keep going through season one.  At the moment I’m watching PBS’s “The Meaning of Food.”  As for “regular television?”  I’d have to say Modern Family and In the Middle are about the two shows that I enjoy catching, though I don’t make a point to watch them.

Movie I’ve Seen: The Proposal, Julie and Julia, and It’s Complicated have been my Netflix picks over the past few weeks.  I am really looking forward to Life as We Know It – perhaps even enough to beg Paul to see it in the movie theater.

In My Kitchen: As my Happiness Project theme is cooking, I’ve been spending plenty of time planning and cooking!  Over the past few weeks, I’ve done chicken pot pie, spinach and ricotta stuffed shells, chicken enchiladas, taco casserole, empanadas, tomato pie, bangers and mash, cheddar cheese crackers, artichoke dip, refried beans, and zucchini bread.  I’ve made quite a bit of progress going through the family cookbook I was given for my wedding shower (a year and a half ago now!) and my 100 Things to Cook project.

Google Reader Trends (past 30 days)

What I’m Looking Forward in October: Our one-year marriage anniversary; making pumpkin pie scented play dough for school;  3 days of inservice at the end of the month (and while this doesn’t sound fantastic, our principal may just choose some or all of those days to let us work in our classrooms or even stay home, fingers crossed); passing out Halloween candy to tiny tots in the neighborhood.

One response to “What Are You Into This Month?

  1. I had my tonsils out in the spring and while I was recovering, I hurt too badly to sleep and I was too groggy to do anything else, so I watched all 5 seasons of Bones back to back.
    My husband was kind of aghast, but it kept my mind off of things since I couldn’t concentrate on anything productive anyhow.

    Thanks for linking to Home Ec. :)

Leave a Reply

