Before Baby

In no way, shape or form am I pregnant.  Or even trying to get pregnant.  (Though I must admit, if a little one came along I wouldn’t be the least bit disappointed.)  Inspired by a post by Kathleen over at Project M, I’m trying to enjoy our childless days to the fullest.  I’m not making a list of all the things I’d like to do before baby comes along, but rather I’m consciously enjoying the moments that may become less frequent in the future:

  • Having the house stay clean after I pick up.  Or, if it doesn’t, I know there’s no one to blame but myself.
  • Leaving out nick knacks, keeping small objects lying about, and generally not worrying about anything in our household being swallowed.
  • Cooking meals based on adult tastes that I really enjoy.
  • Waiting until the last minute to do… well… anything.  Leave for the dentist, grocery shop, go on a date.
  • Meeting up with friends whenever, wherever we’d like.  No babysitters to rely on, no sick child to stay home for.
  • Sleeping  on a very regular schedule – going to bed at the same time, having an uninterrupted rest, and waking up at the same time every day.
  • Reading books for an hour at a time.
  • Listening to my Playaway while I clean.
  • Eating dinner late in the evening.
  • Staying at work until I’m finished, or at least until I’m ready to stop for the day, even if it’s hours after the school day ends.
  • Focusing on my Happiness Project.
  • Taking the opportunity to be selfish once in a while.  (What an awful thing to enjoy, right?)
  • Shopping at a leisurely pace.
  • Blogging uninterrupted whenever I please.

I could make a list about about twenty times as long about all of the wonderful reasons I’d love to have a child, but I think if I focus on enjoying the era that I’m living in, I’ll be happier (and so will my husband!).    I really do need to focus on my happiness project, as I mentioned above, since I do have the time.  I’m getting a bit lax on it, particularly this month.  So here I go to get my tush in gear for a walk, as I’m supposed to focus on staying fit.  Not a stellar workout, but certainly a start!

Leave a Reply

