Fruit Leather Recipe (no sugar added!)

Cherry apple fruit leather looks ugly, I’ll give you that much.  (My lackluster photography skills also play a large role in that picture.  I think it’s the direct lighting.  Thoughts?)  Fruit leather is really healthy, though, and it’s got the husband seal of approval.

I don’t have a “real” recipe to pass on today – more of an idea.  It’s infinitely adaptable – we just happened to have cherries so I thought I’d try that flavor.  Next time I’ll try peach, raspberry, or strawberry.  Go nuts, and let me know how it goes!

Fruit Leather

Ingredients:

  • Applesauce (natural – check the ingredients list to make sure there isn’t any added sugar)
  • Fresh fruit (I used cherries this time)

Directions:

  1. Take stems, pits, etc. out of fresh fruit.  Heat in a saucepan until soft.
  2. Blend fresh fruit and applesauce in a food processor.  (I used an equal amount of fruit and applesauce, but you could certainly try experimenting!)
  3. Prepare a baking sheet with a thin layer of nonstick cooking spray.  Spread fruit mixture evenly over the pan.  You can put it on a bit thicker than you’d think.  I put a moderate amount and parts of it were so thin that I could see through them.
  4. Put in a warm oven (140 degrees) for about 8 hours, or until fruit is no longer tacky and soft.  Alternately, you could use a food dehydrator if you have solid trays with sides.
  5. Cut into strips or large squares.
Leave a Reply

