Rocky Road Squares

A five ingredient dessert recipe?  Count me in.

My mother in law gave me a book filled with family recipes for a wedding gift, and I’ve tried to do a recipe every few weeks.  I’m ramping it up, though, during my cooking month!  This recipe for rocky road squares comes from my husband’s step-grandma.

Her recipe calls for a double boiler, which I decided to forgo.  In the first place, we don’t own anything specifically designed for the purpose.  I’ve made my own before by using a medium sized pot and a large metal bowl, but it’s just one extra step that has always seemed a bit tedious.  It wasn’t until I was reading The Kitchen Detective that I decided to abandon a double boiler all together.  The author (and the chef I admire most) said he hasn’t used a double boiler in decades – he just turns the stove top on its lowest setting or uses the microwave.  If Christopher Kimball doesn’t use one, then I don’t have to either!

This recipe was quick and easy – to be honest, it’s taken me more time to blog about it than it took to make.  The most difficult part of the whole process was spreading the mixture into the pan.  And now that I really look at the picture, I realize that’s because I didn’t follow directions.  (Does that look like a 13×9″ pan to you?)

I will admit – I’ve already snitched a piece.  The chocolate was soft, the marshmallows were gooey, the nuts were crunchy… but holy sweetness.  I’ve got a major sweet tooth, and even to me it was sweet beyond necessity.  I was a bit upset – they seemed so promising – until I looked up this recipe on the Eagle brand website, and it was actually called “Rocky Road Candy.”  It’s all in your expectations, right?  Maybe cutting them into what I consider bars was a little extreme.  Some things are just better in small doses.

Rocky Road Squares

recipe adapted from Eagle Brand via my husband’s step-grandma

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups dry roasted peanuts
  • 10 oz marshmallows
  • 14 oz evaporated milk
  • 12 oz semisweet chocolate chips
  • 2 T butter or margarine

Directions:

  1. On a very low stove, melt chocolate chips with evaporated milk and butter.  Remove from heat.
  2. In large bowl, combine nuts and marshmallows.  Fold in chocolate mixture.
  3. Spread in wax paper lined 13×9 inch pan.  Chill 2 hours.  Remove from pan, peel off wax paper, and cut into 2″ squares.  Cover.  Store at room temperature or freeze.
Leave a Reply

