Remembering Birthdays

I don’t have a knack for remembering dates (or names, or faces…), so I’m working on a way to track and celebrate birthdays.  I have a few ideas, so far, but haven’t settled on one.  Maybe you have something to add to my list.

  1. Gift Elephant, which I’ve posted about before, will e-mail you a week before a birthday.  I added my closest friends’ and family members’ names in, but haven’t taken the time (yet?) to enter cousins, acquaintances, etc.
  2. I use Google Calendar, in which you can repeat an event so it shows up every year.  I think you can have it remind you, as well.  Again, I have immediate family members’ birthdays entered, but that’s it.
  3. Facebook does a fantastic job of reminding people of acquaintances’ (and in my case, some cousins’) birthdays; however, in order to use this feature I’d need to actually log in once in a while.  I know that I’m not committed enough to Facebook to log in daily just to see if it’s anyone’s birthday, but I could do a better job of checking birthdays the times I do sign on.
  4. During my organization month in April, I set up a tickler file – a system of 12 file folders labeled by month and 31 slots (for days of the month) in a bill organizer.  This would be handy to keep cards in – for example, I could make an anniversary card whenever I have the time, and stick it in the August folder to plan ahead for my parents’ anniversary.  I could even attach a list of important dates in each folder, and on the first of the month plan ahead accordingly.
  5. I love the idea of having a hanging paper calendar on the fridge.  I could fill in birthdays at the beginning of the year.
  6. My grandma buys cards in advance, and as soon as she purchases them, addresses the envelope and puts the delivery date in the top right corner.  When the date approaches, she sticks a stamp over the date and drops it in the mailbox.  Maybe I could somehow combine this with my tickler system.

I have two birthdays to remember in May, so hopefully I’ll have my system worked out in the next week or so.  Any ideas would be appreciated!

One response to “Remembering Birthdays

  1. Facebook is helpful but yeah, I think I need another reminder too. For birthdays and British holidays because I missed Mother’s Day for my mother-in-law in Scotland. Greeeaattt.

Leave a Reply

