Expanding My Social Circle

It’s completely out of my comfort zone, but I’ve decided to go for it – I’ve joined a cooking club where I know absolutely no one.  It’ll be an experience, though whether it’s one I’ll continue or limit to once will be seen in a few weeks.

I found out about the cooking club on Meetup.com.  I followed a link from a blog I follow(MWF Seeking BFF) with low expectations.  I live in a small city, and typically the closest clubs and events that I see advertised on various websites take place at least four hours away from my house.  This site was different, though – it had dozens of groups in my city, from backpacking to socializing to the John Birch Society (no, thank you).  Their mission is “to revitalize local community and help people around the world self-organize. Meetup believes that people can change their personal world, or the whole world, by organizing themselves into groups that are powerful enough to make a difference.”

I’m looking forward to the first event I’ll attend – a potluck picnic.  I’m not bringing a friend or the husband, and that makes me nervous – no security blanket.  At the same time, though, I think that’ll be my saving grace – it will force me to talk to people I don’t know.  Hopefully I’ll keep a good attitude about the whole thing for a few weeks – at least through the first meeting, and then I can see how I feel from there.

One response to “Expanding My Social Circle

  1. Oooh, can’t wait to hear how it goes! I agree you have to just go for it, sans friend or husband, otherwise you’ll hang with them and not force yourself out to meet new people. It will pay off!

Leave a Reply

