The Happiness Project

After months on the library waiting list, guess what I picked up today?  The Happiness Project!  I am beyond excited.  I’ve been a fan of Gretchen Rubin’s blog for a while.  It’s inspiring, and I have used tips that she’s shared; however, I haven’t actually put her ideas and advice into an action plan.  After reading only one chapter of her book, I think I’m ready!  My own blog is actually the perfect outlet for documenting my own happiness project, and I’m already on my way with the goals that I developed when I started blogging, so I already have a head start.

The premise her happiness project is this: the author picks eleven general resolutions, and focuses on one per month.  In January, for example, Rubin works at increasing her energy level.  She then breaks down that goal into manageable, concrete tasks (in this example, they are: go to sleep earlier, exercise better, “toss, restore, organize,” tackle a nagging task, and act more energetic).  Each day, she checks off each task that she accomplishes.

I’m planning to take the next several days to get my resolutions planned, and will begin my own happiness project in April.  I’m excited to begin!

Leave a Reply

