Know the Low

After weeks of entering data from my grocery bill, I should now have a base of how much items cost.  I’m frustrated with myself, though, because I know I’m not using all of this knowledge to get the lowest possible bill.  I forget to bring the coupons, or I buy what I need when it’s not on sale, or I mistake a marketing trick for a sale.  Here’s my updated grocery price list:

Grocery Price List

If you didn’t read my last post about saving money at the grocery market, I vowed to learn the prices of frequently purchased items, so that I could stock up when needed and know a great deal when I saw one.  So far… not so good.  I really should take the advice of Coupon Mom – stick with my most common items.  At first, maybe I should stick to less than ten.  Keeping track of the prices of 38 types of food hasn’t been working for me so far.

I’m going to start memorizing the prices of the following items.  Reasons vary, but for the most part, I’ve chosen items that are expensive, frequently consumed, or have a long shelf life.

  • Frozen blueberries (it’s expensive, and I eat them 4-5 times per week on cereal)
  • Carnation instant breakfast (H drinks daily)
  • Peanut butter (I don’t like the cheapest kind, I eat it frequently, and I can buy multiple jars without it going bad)
  • Dishwasher detergent (I just don’t know how much it should cost, at it’s easy to stock up on)
  • Flour (I recently got tricked into thinking it was a great deal… the wound is still fresh, so I’m ready for revenge)
  • Cheese (it’s expensive)
  • Deodorant (easy to stock up on, and I usually don’t get it until we’re out)
  • Face wash (same reason as deodorant)

I know that I could just print out my page, bring it to the store, and all problems would be solved.  It just seems somewhat time consuming, and, it I’m being completely honest here, it would be pretty embarrassing.  Maybe it would just look like a grocery list, and no one would know…

What do you think?  How do you recognize a sale?  And what would you think if you saw someone whip out a page full of prices in the cereal aisle?

5 responses to “Know the Low

  1. We have a site that automates the entire grocery price book/grocery price list process. It may be exactly what you are looking for! The site is groceryhop.com.

    Let us know what you think.

  2. I love it! I’ve already started entering data. I’ll post on it after I’ve taken it to the grocery store a few times. Thanks for the tip!

  3. Good to hear!

    As you continue to use it, please let us know if you have any questions or feedback.

    Some typical areas of feedback revolve around categories, units for product entry and units for unit price comparison at the store.

    For instance you may find we are missing a category for a purchase you made, that the units on a product are different than the our default units or that your store has different units for unit price comparisons for particular products.

    The fastest way for comments and feedback is through the support form on the website.

    Thanks!

  4. I would think, “Gee, I wish I had one of those.” I’m so glad I came to the comments b/c now I’m going to check out that site. Making a price list is still on my to-do list.

  5. Pingback: 2010 in review | The Wooden Spoon

Leave a Reply

