Gift Elephant

About a year ago, my mom suggested keeping track of all gifts that I give out for Christmas so I don’t repeat myself.  (Looking back, I’m not sure if this was some sort of a hint… if so… sorry Mom!)  It really does make sense.  I can barely remember what I gave my parents for Christmas a few months ago, much less years before that.

One of the handiest tools I’ve found for tracking gifts given and received is Gift Elephant.  You type in a gift you’ve given to any given person, and when next Christmas comes around, you can be sure you won’t give them the same thing again!  It stores birthdays/anniversaries/etc., and will even send you a reminder in the week prior.  It also has some neat search features – you’ll have to check it out for yourself.

I’ve found only one drawback.  Who’s to say that Gift Elephant will still be around in 5, 10, 20 years?  What if it goes under, and all of my info is lost to the world?  I’ve e-mailed them about this concern, so I’ll update if I have an answer for you!

Does anyone else have any brilliant (or even mediocre) ideas?  How you keep track of gifts?

**Update** I did e-mail Gift Elephant, and here’s what I got in return.  I’m satisfied!

We’re working on adding the ability for you to print and download the info you’ve entered into your Gift Elephant account.

We don’t have any plans of shutting down the site (in fact, we’re adding more users every day). But in the unlikely event that ever were to happen, you’ll still be able to make sure your info isn’t lost to the world. :)

Thanks again!
The Gift Elephant Team

Leave a Reply

