This Too Shall Pass

Today’s goal is to have a mission.  The booklet I’m reading doesn’t give much of an explanation on how to formulate one, other than that in order to be happy, you must identify a goal in life. This general idea goes hand in hand with a book I’ve been meaning to read:

The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin.  I’m hold #31 out of 48 at the library… but there are only two copies, so it could be a while.  This might be the time to use my Barnes and Noble gift card!  In the meantime, I did some research on The Happiness Project Blog and its related site, The Happiness Project Toolbo. One of my favorite things that I found on either of the two sites was the Happiness Manifesto, below.  My favorites are in red.

A Happiness Manifesto by Gretchen Rubin

  • To be happy, you need to consider feeling good, feeling bad, and feeling right, in an atmosphere of growth.
  • One of the best ways to make yourself happy is to make other people happy; One of the best ways to make other people happy is to be happy yourself.
  • The days are long, but the years are short.
  • You’re not happy unless you think you’re happy.
  • Your body matters.
  • Happiness is other people.
  • Think about yourself so you can forget yourself.
  • “It is easy to be heavy: hard to be light.”—G. K. Chesterton
  • What’s fun for other people may not be fun for you, and vice versa.
  • Best is good, better is best.
  • Outer order contributes to inner calm.
  • Happiness comes not from having more, not from having less, but from wanting what you have.
  • You can choose what you do, but you can’t choose what you like to do.
  • “There is no duty we so much underrate as the duty of being happy.” —Robert Louis Stevenson
  • You manage what you measure.

Seems like many of them are quite obvious, yet somehow I frequently forget them.  One that I do frequently remind myself of may not exactly fit the list, but it does have the same feel:

“This too shall pass.”

I know – it sounds terrible – but it’s not.  I’m not wishing my life away. Instead, it reminds me that I’d better enjoy every moment, because it won’t last long.  It works just as well the tough times, too.  No mater how terrible something may seem, it will get better with time.  Though it’s not exactly a mission, which seems more to do with a goal, it is a way in which I strive to live my life.

Leave a Reply

