Famous Amos Cookie Recipe

Famous Amos Cookies

I wouldn’t say that these truly taste like Famous Amos cookies, but they’re a nice change from my typical chocolate chip cookie.  The dough was much more moist and sticky than other doughs I’ve used, which I’m sure added to the crunch of the cookies.  An explanation for this can be found at Cooking for Engineers.

I began making the cookies with the intent that I’d do a tutorial.  I gathered all of the ingredients…

Ingredients

and promptly got so involved into the baking that I forgot to take any more pictures! Oh well.  Here’s the recipe, anyway!

Famous Amos Chocolate Chip Cookies

adapted from allrecipes.com

Ingredients

  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 1 cup butter
  • 1 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tablespoon milk
  • 4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon cream of tartar (I was out, so I used 1 tablespoon lemon juice)
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts
  • 2 cups semisweet chocolate chips

Directions

  1. Thoroughly cream sugars, butter, oil, egg, milk and vanilla.
  2. Add dry ingredients, nuts and chocolate chips.
  3. Drop by the teaspoon* onto ungreased cookie sheets. Bake at 350 degrees F for 8-12 minutes. Cookies are light in color when done.
*After baking about five batches, I’ve realized that the smaller the cookie, the better.  Teaspoon is even a generous amount.  it should be about the size of a penny, a little thicker.
Leave a Reply

