Good Old Tomato Pie

For the husband’s final “Christmas Meal” of the year, he requested “Good Old Tomato Pie,” rolls, and chocolate milk.  I’ve never had Tomato Pie, and it doesn’t sound particularly appetizing, but maybe I’ll be surprised!  I’m planning on making it tomorrow.  I’ll post again soon with an updated recipe and pictures (with my new camera, if the memory card comes in!).

Here’s the recipe.  If I’m understanding correctly, it’s originally from my husband’s grandfather, so I’m guessing some of the comments may be his.  My mother-in-law passed the recipe on to me in an e-mail, so she added comments as well.

Good Old Tomato Pie

Ingredients

Store bought frozen pie crust, 8-10-inch diameter (deep dish).

Tomatoes – 4-5 (large), 6-8 (small), sliced or cubed, peeled or unpeeled as preferred.

  • Add flour to thicken

Onions, peppers, water chestnuts, etc. Diced and added as available. (I like zucchini and mushrooms)

Brown sugar – sprinkle 2-3 tablespoons over tomatoes.

Salt, Pepper, Thyme, Oregano, Tabasco, Worcestershire sauce, etc., to taste.

Cheese – grated – 1 cup medium or sharp cheddar, plus 1 cup Monterey Jack, plus 1 cup miracle whip (mayonnaise) mixed and spread to cover.  (I use about ½ this much)

Meat – may add diced ham, bacon, turkey, chicken, leftovers (meatloaf).

Directions:

Mix and fix ingredients as above. Place into frozen pie crust. Bake in pre-heated oven at 375 degrees for 45 minutes. Serve hot, and use as a vegetable. Delicious reheated in the microwave oven etc.

P.S. Frozen tomato slices or cubes work well for year round availability, Tomato pie goes well with wine or beer.

I usually make two at a time (two frozen crusts per package) and use up any vegetables in the fridge. I cook them both and freeze one. Just thaw and reheat in oven.

Leave a Reply

