Cleaning out the cupboards…

No more tuna for a long, long time!  I felt nauseous every time I looked at it.  I’m embarrassed to say this, but I actually tossed half of that big can tuna right into the trash can.  I didn’t freeze it for another week; I didn’t have my husband use it in a recipe for himself; I didn’t even dump the tuna and recycle the can.  It just went straight into the garbage.  Sorry, mother nature.

That can of tuna has been with us for months.  It was a leftover from our school cafeteria in June, and shortly after I brought it to a huge week-long family reunion, hoping someone would be inspired.  It somehow made its way back into our pantry, and has been sitting there ever since.  Getting rid of it made me realize how much prime time real estate that thing actually took up, and inspired me to create a menu out of items that have been sitting in our cupboards/freezer for far too long.

In addition, we’re having a holiday get together next weekend, so there are some fun appetizer type recipes as well.  I have a feeling this list will last us well over a week (at least for snacks and desserts!).  We’ll see!

Main Dishes
Beef Empanadas (**Update– this is an AMAZING, must-try, must-keep recipe)
Hash Brown Potato Casserole (with mushrooms added)
Leftovers (Tuna Salad Sandwiches, Tuna Macaroni Salad, Latkes, Potato Soup)

Side Dishes
Broccoli and Cheese
Couscous (this could be an adventure…)
Mashed Potatoes and Corn
Cornbread (From a nearly expired Jiffy Mix… OK, expired.  Hopefully it won’t do lasting damage)

Snacks
Apples with Caramel Dip
Oat & Almond Bars
Cheese and Crackers
Fresh Pineapple

Dessert
Apple Tapioca
Tapioca Pudding
Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies (based on a Health magazine recipe… but be warned, the recipe as stands is terrible and will give you burnt wafers without some major changes… I almost feel bad even including the link)
Mississippi Mud Cake

Party Food
Cocktail Meatballs
Veggies and Tortilla chips with Roasted Red Pepper Hummus
Margaritas (from a mix)

Leave a comment